the end is near - October 14, 2004
rant of the year - August 20, 2004
many happy hondas(and two people) - August 02, 2004
canadian thing? - July 31, 2004
the pig - a.k.a. "mr. oinkers" - July 09, 2004

diaryland

new job
April 27, 2003 - 7:49 pm

last monday i embarked upon my new job in my fairly new career. i am a massage therapist. i've been one for about a year. so here's the big question, why did you want to become a massage therapist? because i can heal you with my hands, that's why!! but seriously, i do love helping people. i've been helping people for many years(in retail, ug!)and now on a more physical & personal level. and the money is good too.

i had been up until the middle of this month, been working in hamtown part time. but the hours sucked, the percentage sucked, and the whole head office regime was a little too tight. as in leash around my neck, if ya know what i mean. i tried to make it work, but when someone has a stick with a stick up their butts, it's draining.(court knows what i mean, don't you?)

obviously i had wanted full time hours from the beginning and it was five or so months of job searches, interviews and dead ends. until last month, when i got what i wanted. i was looking for full time hours. got it. i was looking for a major increase in pay. got it. and i was wanting to be closer to that magical us/cdn border. check and mate. so i took the job. the next day(apr. 2nd) i handed in my resignation. there were hardly any tears. the next few weeks were a bit tense because i hadn't heard from the guy who hired me. and i didn't actually know where i was working. that's so important, make sure you write that down, when you're at the interview. at the last minute, everything fell together and on monday i started my first day at my new work. everyone is pretty relaxed and laid back there, so i imediately took a liking to everyone. no chips on shoulders. no egos, etc. that makes you feel comfortable and welcome. it was refreshing.

now, i know the drive from hamtown to niagara can be gruelling, but it's only 40 or so mins. and i don't mind it.(he says after the first week) hey, it's not like you're driving to the big smoke. ever sit in traffic for two hours crawling along at 5kms? i know , i've done it.(but only for three days) that's enough for me. i do plan on moving "east" to either st. kitts or somewhere close. if i found a decent place in niagara , i'd move there. but i can't see it happening...we'll see.

so the job is good. i have taken myself off my medication again, for my own health. these pills are supposed to help me, not turn me into the living dead. or are they? yeah, i felt that bad. sleepy, groggy and uh, flaccid, if you catch my drift. NOT GOOD! i think i'm feeling normal now.

oh, and one last thing. we now have a something to prevent the unwanted dregs of society from entering our country. people who have been "denied"...elton john & billy joel, presley, and george w.(ooops that last one was because we didn't want to play war )not to make this serious plight into my personal joke but i do feel bad for the people who have died because of sars. it's not going to keep me from going to toronto. so wash your hands once in awhile and stop acting like babies!

prev - next