the end is near - October 14, 2004
rant of the year - August 20, 2004
many happy hondas(and two people) - August 02, 2004
canadian thing? - July 31, 2004
the pig - a.k.a. "mr. oinkers" - July 09, 2004

diaryland

i quit!
March 23, 2003 - 11:46 pm

usually i�m not proud of quitting things i set out to accomplish. �it�s too hard�, or �this isn�t working right� are some of the phrases i hear myself say after another daunting chore has been set out before me. this time i got it right. this time i quit and will never start again.

today i took off my final nicorette patch. there is probably a tiny amount of nicotine in my system but it a smaller amount then when i started ten weeks ago. that was when i smoked my last cigarette.(jan 5th) i do feel better. smell better. i think i can taste better , but that ones up in the air. i�m not as tired or that weak draining feeling that you get after one. more changes to follow in the coming months and years. i try not to preach to others because i was once them. then i am going to avoid smoky areas unless it�s absolutely necessary. and since i�m poor i can�t really afford smokes anyway, now that they�re over $6 a pack. i went through a lot of those patches , so i don�t expect to go through that again!

so what made me decide to quit? now? after ten some years? well, it was a horrible new year�s resolution. which failed. but five days later after the pressure was gone i tried again. i knew i needed help but you really want to do it. i think if i was shootin� heroin i�d have an easier time stopping. though i hate needles so i wouldn�t even be able to start. but i do have nice and big heroin veins that are quite visible�.nah, that�s too easy.

oh, yeah. quitting. and why. well my health is one big reason. the other is my girlfriend. (surprise, surprise) (and who will now be referred to as kit, my pet name for her). she never once complained about my smoking around her, ever since we started going out. never told me to go brush my teeth when my breath reeked of it. or to change my clothes after each one. or to take a shower and clean all the nicotine off of myself. but i knew all of those things were. and it is quite a stinky habit. even if you smoke outside, which the majority of smokers have to. you just know. so that�s what i smelled like. ug. kit compliments me all the time of how much better i smell(and taste) and that i�m healthy, or at least healthier than i was two months ago. i�ve only had a few bad cravings and she�s been there to help me through most of them. i think the worst of them is over. today, for example, has been craving free. no patch. most programs that help you quit will tell you to write down some reasons why and keep them on you to remind you why you quit. the nicoderm program tells you to write down five. here are mine: 1. court

2. health 3. i�ll smell better 4. food will taste better 5. wanna see our kids graduate

sounds corny but those are the main reasons. i should thank kit for putting up with it for so long, and for her support, while i was in the process. thanks.

oh and i do realize that it may seem that i�m plugging nicoderm, when actually i�m not. i do hear it�s the better one(and it works). but hey, use what you want. you can use cold turkey if that helps.

prev - next