the end is near - October 14, 2004
rant of the year - August 20, 2004
many happy hondas(and two people) - August 02, 2004
canadian thing? - July 31, 2004
the pig - a.k.a. "mr. oinkers" - July 09, 2004

diaryland

flashback to may 1st.
May 06, 2004 - 12:54 pm

Yes, it is time. Time to become responsible, and commit to the biggest event of your life. Today I am to become a married man. To be with the woman I love until the day I die. It is one great accomplishment that will be forever etched in my memory.

So here it is, may 1st, and in a few hours I�ll be getting married. Since both court and I have no affiliation to any church or religion, we will get married outside in the arms of nature. Court and I went to pick up the food and her bouquet for the wedding. I wanted to pick up the cake and some food from courts grams place but time did not permit it. Plus as the hours went on I started to feel anxious, nervous but my feet we still very warm.

I was just hoping that everything would turn out perfect or near perfect for one of the most important days of both of our lives. Courts sister casey came over to put up her hair and we all kind of got ready to go in an hour or so. There was one tradition that went south then, not seeing the bride the day of the wedding. we drove to the park in the same car! (well, the bride drove) we got to frick park an hour early and were constantly weary about the forecasted threat of thunderstorms. Luckily there was not a cloud in the sky that afternoon. Courts� friend Claire met us there to perform the wedding. we had met her the day before to talk about it and just talk. Before everyone arrived we went through two quick run throughs and to discuss places and posture, etc. then before you knew it guests started coming to the stone circle and it was almost time. I was still nervous but getting a bit more relaxed. Everyone was friendly and that helped me a lot. Now everyone was here, but we still waited for amy, courts bestest friend since grade 3. she was late because she was stuck in traffic picking up food and drving all over Pittsburgh to make things happen. You don�t forget things like that. It was very nice of her to run errands. Plus I hope I thanked everyone who went out of their way to make things beautiful and go smooth Saturday. I thank you all. Now the ceremony begins�

Katrina was nice enough to offer her place for the afternoon and even play us some songs on her violin. It was quite amazing for her to do that. As Courtney walked down the path to where I was standing, it got very quiet. I listened to Claire and we joined hands. It is a tremendous feeling when you get married, and I guess everyone is different. The rush of blood, adrenaline and emotion makes everything blurry. I fought back from breaking down in front of everyone. I know maybe a few could see my lip trembling. I was oblivious to everything around me, including the jet that flew overhead, when I was saying my vows. As I focused on my bride, everything hit me like I just ran into a brick wall. I was just thinking of how beautiful Courtney was right then and how I�m the luckiest man on the planet to be with such an amazing woman. I mean, I knew a long time ago how special she was. Her wit and humour is still making me laugh. The fierce independence. Her intelligence which never ceases to amaze me. And most of all, the undying love and support which she has always given me, for all of our time together and apart. I hope I can be as much to her as she has to me, because this woman is the best thing to come into my life ever and I�m not going to leave her side again.

Then before you knew it we were half slipping the rings on each other. The ceremony was short but it seemed like forever. Heart-stopping blurriness it was. Then we walked out of the stone circle thingie, the crowd threw birdseed at us and we posed for some pics. Wonderful. I just wish some of my friends were there to witness the moment.

The reception was nice, I thought it might have been too short but it was katrina�s apt. too. So after everyone left, we straightened up a bit and took off together as hisband and wife, to continue our adventures around this great world til we�re too old to go fifty feet from the rest home.

Unconventional was the theme for this wedding, there was no church, no priest, no father walking his daughter down the aisle. There wasn�t any speeches or dancing, or throwing of the bouquet. Stupid traditions died at this wedding. and i�m glad that they did. It wouldn�t have been ours if they were around.

prev - next