the end is near - October 14, 2004
rant of the year - August 20, 2004
many happy hondas(and two people) - August 02, 2004
canadian thing? - July 31, 2004
the pig - a.k.a. "mr. oinkers" - July 09, 2004

diaryland

back in the u.s.a.
March 04, 2004 - 7:44 pm

I have been meaning to write a diaryland entry for a week now. A lot has happened since Friday, so I�ll try and go through it all. I wasn�t going to go out at all on Saturday, but because it was my last night in Canada for awhile, I might as well try and spend it with a few friends. I eventually finished all of my packing and inadvertently left the door to the van open , which drained the battery. I was a bit freaked because I�m suppose to drive this thing 500kms the next day. I tried to jump it with my brother�s car but it wasn�t enough. We did, however, managed to get CAA to boost it the next morning. By the time I decided to go out that night, I knew I would be ready the next morning. So it was supposed to be four of us going to Niagara falls on Saturday night, but andy had a flood at his apt.(which wasn�t a flood at all) and dan had a freak out because he had been drinking all day. So it was just terry and myself to go see his cousin play at the keg. We ate dinner and hung around for a song or too, then I took one last tour to see the falls. It was too cold so I only went as far as the American falls. Then it was mere hours until our short adventure that is to be my new life.

Sunday morning I was up around 7:30am and after getting all of my last minute things downstairs , shower and eat, and to spend some last minute moments with my cat isis, I saw terry pull up and we were pretty much ready to go. So with my brother Kevin and terry in the van and everything was packed and set, we got about a km away when Kevin made me go back to get this small jerry can of gas. We stopped at timmy�s (my last time until I can get to the one in west Virginia) and then we were off to buffalo. I knew we were getting pulled in , the guard was very abrupt and gave us an orange ticket to go in �door number one� we sat and joked around for about an hour and a half before terry decided that he had to go to the bathroom. It was then that my name was called. it took all of ten minutes and we were let loose in buffalo. By that time we were all really hungry so we stopped at the denny�s in Angola and then Pittsburgh was only three hours away. The whole trip was surreal. I�ve made this trip about twenty or so times and this one was bitter-sweet, a victory but at other peoples terms. All in the name of love. We pulled up in front of my future home just at 5:30 pm � seven hours after we left Hamilton. Unpacking all of my stuff was considerably easier and quicker than packing it. Courtney treated us all, which was kev, terry, me and court�s sister casey. The five of us went to rock bottom and the food was very filling(for me anyway) so we all had some laughs before, during and after dinner, and I�m glad everyone had a good time. Before he left, kev left us a present � he freakin� flooded the stupid toilet. Nice. When I went to plunge it later, it spilled out all over the floor. Good thing that it was only water. And after every one left we were too tired for anything. After five months I had finally made it here, my new home.

This past week I�ve kept busy with little chores around the apt. tending to kitty and being chauffeur for court. Slowly unpacking my things haven�t been too bad. We still have to find room for all of it, but we�ll get there. I think we are still kind of adjusting (and a little in shock still) to each other. I have submitted my application for a work permit and I hope it doesn�t take long, because I want to get working. Soon. Today I was to start volunteering at the PATF(Pittsburgh AIDS task force). casey volunteers there as well and she was helping me meet some people today and I did I few tasks to get used to the place. It should be interesting and fun. Next week I have an interview with a physical therapist who is looking for a m.t. it would be a good start if I can make a good impression.

prev - next