the end is near - October 14, 2004
rant of the year - August 20, 2004
many happy hondas(and two people) - August 02, 2004
canadian thing? - July 31, 2004
the pig - a.k.a. "mr. oinkers" - July 09, 2004

diaryland

good-bye to "old red"
January 21, 2004 - 10:50 pm

yep, a sad day today. a very sad day. i should be angry too but i am in shock still. my beloved car of eleven and a half years has been totalled. as in i won't be driving it anymore. ever.

here's the story: i finished work at 5:30, got home at 6 and parked my car on my street like i usually do almost every day. terry and i went out, we were going to move some of his stuff but we just ended up grabbing a bite to eat. and we took his car. when we got back about 2 hours later and got closer to my house i noticed something that wasn't quite right. i can usually see my car from the intersection about 300 ft. from my house. but it just looked like a jumbled mess. as we drove closer i knew something was wrong when i saw my car sideways in the middle of the street. there was also a 93 ford van sitting up on the grass. i got out and ran to the car and just stared at it. my car was fuckin' trashed. basically destroyed. my neighbours were outside directing traffic and waiting for me to arrive home. they told me what happened and i was in shock. apparently the driver of this van just plowed into my car. no brakes. no swerving to avoid it. just rammed it from behind. pushed it a hundred feet from where it was and into the middle of the street before smashing into a tree. then the idiot fled the scene. very dumb move. very dumb. especially since he left an empty beer bottle and his wallet(and the van) inside the truck. one of my neighbours confirmed him just slamming into my car by there was no noise just before impact. fucking loser. and then taking off...would you still have done that if there had been someone inside the car? it will certainly be a shame if this fucker isn't convicted of drunk driving, even though the victim tonight is only plastic and metal(and glass)

yeah, i remember when i bought the car in august of '92. only $10,000, it had a/c and everything.(except no radio) the little red tercel has rarely let me down. taken my abuse time and time again. (sorry i kicked you) and pretty much started 92% of the time. except when it needs a new battery. (it's gone through two of those, one alternator, one starter, two mufflers, front shocks, back shocks, one right tie rod thingie, countless headlights, one dented fender caused by a falling shower stall, a couple of minor fender benders and whatever else i can't think of. the final odometer reading said 209, 500+kms. didn't even make it to 210,000. sigh. but it did make it across the states to seattle, washington. and vancouver, and banff, jasper, edmonton, saskatchewan, manitoba, "northern" ontario and sault ste. marie. it's been to algonquin too many times , london, ont. toronto about a billion times. and of course it's taken me to see the love of my life in pittsburgh more than twenty times without complaining one bit. it has survived countless border searches. and one license plate change.(thought i'd throw that in there. ) i've smoked in it. i might have slept in it. laughed so hard that i've had to pull over(thanks pete) and listened to the best music in the world. (it should be so lucky - or unlucky)

well, i shall see it maybe once or twice more before giving it one final good bye. i still have stuff in the trunk to get out. poor old car. it surely never deserved this fate. i thought i would ride it forever, or two more years. then i promised to sell it to pete. sorry man, it's not going to happen. yep the 1991 toyota tercel, one hell of a car. my car. good night.

prev - next